Tuesday, December 18, 2018

Tavi Gevinson on Why Rookie Had to End

By Rebecca Onion in Slate. 

"When Tavi Gevinson announced, in late November, that her beloved online teen magazine Rookie would end, she did it in an unusual editor’s note: more than 5,000 words detailing her efforts to keep the ship afloat, and the inner conflict the decision had sparked in her. It’s a remarkable document that should be assigned in courses about digital media, but the note— smart, funny, and painstakingly transparent—was also quintessentially and fittingly Rookie." 

Read the full piece here.

Monday, October 22, 2018

UNBOUND Wins Best Film!

Hot on the heels of five nominations at the Austin Arthouse Film Festival, it was revealed that UNBOUND took the laurel for Best Arthouse Film, the top prize at the event at their ceremony on October 20th.

This statement was read at the Festival on behalf of the producers:
Thanks first and foremost go to David Bowie, for being the artist he was and for allowing us to contribute to the extended universe of his canon with our film  
Thank you, Liz, Giselle and everyone at Austin Arthouse Film Festival for recognizing UNBOUND. Congratulations to all of the other nominees whose films were included in the Festival.  
Austin is a special place for the film. Before tonight, the only other public screening of the complete work was also here in town – at SxSW – as part of a panel we did during the promotion of the film.  
Thank you to Bill Zysblat and Coco Schwab, David’s trusted friends and advisors whose early support set in motion the events that led to UNBOUND. Thank you to Betsy Whitney and Mike Matthewson at Columbia Records and Sony Music. 
Thank you to the wonderful on-screen performers Tavi Gevinson, Patricia Clarkson, Jonah Herman, Daniel Rysak, Ching Valdes-Anan and Jay Knowles as well as the musicians, dancers and other on-screen talent. Thank you also to David’s fans, especially the community on his official website, davidbowie.com.
Producer Lawrence Peryer would like to personally thank UNBOUND writer and producer Carolynn Cecilia for sharing her talents and vision and Michael DeCheser and Mike Ragone whose post-production assistance helped us wrap our project.

Thursday, October 18, 2018

IFC Films Acquires Patricia Clarkson Film

IFC Films has picked up the U.S. distribution rights to Out Of BlueThe Carol Morley written and directed crime drama had its premiere at this year’s Toronto Film Festival and will be released in theaters sometime next year. UNBOUND star Patricia ClarksonJacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom), James Caan (Misery), Toby Jones (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy), and Mamie Gummer (End Of Tour) star.

Read the full article here

Monday, October 15, 2018

UNBOUND scores FIVE nominations at the Austin Arthouse Film Festival

As previously reportedUNBOUND has been tapped for a screening at the Austin Arthouse Film Festival in Austin, TX, on October 20.

Following on that we have learned that the series has been nominated for five prizes at the Festival:

The Deren Award for Dreamiest Film is named for Maya Deren, a pioneering avant-garde filmmaker who also worked in dance, photography and letters.

The Gondry Award for Best Surrealist Film is named for Michel Gondry, the Academy Award-winner directory of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, who, in addition to his notable film work, has directed scores of music videos and commercials since the 1980s.

The Jodorowsky Award for Best Occult Film is named for Alejandro Jodorowsky, the acclaimed and controversial writer and filmmaker.

The Kubrick Award for Best Director is, of course, named for screenwriter and director Stanley Kubrick, about whom nothing we say here could possibly be enough...

Finally, the Lynch Award for Best Arthouse Film, named for David Lynch, the multi-hyphenated artist primarily known as a director.

Learn about all of the awesome nominees and get tickets for the Festival here.

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

UNBOUND Producer shares new project news

In 1978, Keith Richards' first solo release was his take on Chuck Berry's rock & roll holiday classic, "Run Rudolph Run". The original was a 7" with Keith's version of Jimmy Cliff's "The Harder They Come" as the b-side.

In 2007, a digital-only version was released to iTunes, this time pairing Keith with Toots & the Maytals performing "Pressure Drop".

On November 23, 2018, the 40th anniversary is marked with a red vinyl 12" 45 RPM version, bringing together all three tracks in glorious remasters.

UNBOUND Producer Lawrence Peryer produced this new release, supervising the team handling the mixing, mastering and product design. The title is a Black Friday Record Store Day exclusive in the US and available from select retailers worldwide. To find a participating Record Store Day retailer near you, click here.

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Dear Evan Hansen's Mike Faist, Steven Levenson & More Unite for Days of Rage Off-Broadway

Dear Evan Hansen scribe Steven Levenson's newest play Days of Rage will begin performances at Second Stage's Tony Kiser Theatre on October 9. Days of Rage focuses on five twenty-somethings that form a collective during the Vietnam War. Dear Evan Hansen Tony nominee Mike Faist, UNBOUND star Tavi Gevinson, Lauren Patten, Odessa Young and J. Alphonse Nicholson star in the show, which is directed by Trip Cullman. Get tickets

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

UNBOUND set for Austin Arthouse Film Festival screening

In its first public showing in over two years, UNBOUND has been invited to screen in full at the Austin Arthouse Film Festival on October 20, 2018.

The Austin Arthouse Film Festival spotlights work from filmmakers across the world who defy conventions, champion art and challenge audience expectations. The Festival celebrates the work of these artists by sharing their films in a city that triumphs originality, creativity and the weird.

The Austin Arthouse Film Festival presents short films throughout the evening at AFS Cinema in Austin, TX. The evening ends in an awards ceremony across ten categories.

For more information, visit the Festival website. To buy tickets, click here.

Thursday, March 15, 2018